55 Memorial Boulevard. Suite 5
Newport, RI 02840

Call Us Today401- 841- 5700

Rhode Island DUI Attorneys

If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving or for driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs, you should contact an attorney immediately. Before you do anything else, call an experienced DUI attorney and allow a legal expert from the Law Office of Howe & Garside, LTD help you., You need a skilled legal professional to ensure that you are treated fairly. A conviction could jeopardize your personal and business reputation and you could also lose your driving privileges for a long period of time. This is not a charge that you should face alone. Get the expert legal help you need.

Call us to secure an experienced
Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney who will fight for you.
401-841-5700

STATUTORY PENALTIES FOR RI DUI

1st OFFENSE

Penalties for a first offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .10 can range from the following:

  • Up to one year at the Adult Correctional Institution (ACI)
  • Fines and fees between $800 and $1000
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service
  • License suspension of 1 to 6 months
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program and/or driving school
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle (this is a breath test machine installed in your vehicle and monitored by the RI DMV)

Penalties for a first offence DUI with an unknown breath alcohol or a breath alcohol content (BAC) between .10 and .15 can range from the following:

  • Up to one year at the Adult Correctional Institution (ACI)
  • Fines and fees between $800 and $1100
  • 10 to 60 hours of public community service
  • License suspension of 3 to 12 months
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program and/or driving school
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle

Penalties for a first offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) greater than .15 can range from the following:

  • Up to one year at the Adult Correctional Institution (ACI)
  • Fines and fees totaling approximately $1,200
  • 20 to 60 hours of public community service
  • License suspension of 3 to 18 months
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program and/or driving school
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle

2nd OFFENSE

If you have previously been convicted of a DUI within the last five years then you will be charged with a 2nd offense DUI. Penalties for a 2nd offence DUI include mandatory minimum sentence at the ACI.

Penalties for a second offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .15 can range from the following:

  • Mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days, up to 1 year
  • Fines and fees totaling approximately $1,100
  • License suspension of 1 to 2 years
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol and/or drug treatment program
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle
  • Penalties for a second offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) of .15 or greater can range from the following:
  • Mandatory minimum jail time of 6 months, up to 1 year
  • Fines and costs in excess of $1,500
  • Mandatory license suspension for 2 years
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol and/or drug treatment program
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle

3rd OFFENSE

If you have previously been convicted of two or more DUIs within the last five years then you will be charged with a 3nd offense DUI. A 3rd offence DUI is charged as a felony and include a mandatory minimum sentence at the ACI.

Penalties for a second offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .15 can range from the following:

  • Mandatory minimum of 1 year at the ACI, up to 3 years
  • Fines and fees totaling approximately of $1,200
  • License suspension of 2 to 3 years
  • Mandatory alcohol and/or drug treatment
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle
  • Penalties for a second offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .15 can range from the following:
  • Mandatory minimum of 3 years at the ACI, up 5 years
  • Fines and fees between $1,500 and $5,500
  • License suspension of 3 years
  • Mandatory alcohol and/or drug treatment
  • Ignition interlock system requirement in your vehicle

Rhode Island Drunk Driving Laws

The State of Rhode Island has specific laws and regulations regarding driving under the influence charges. You will be charged if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater. This BAC is even lower (.04%) if you were driving a commercial vehicle. People of different weights or genders may reach this BAC level differently from one another. However, even for a first offense, you risk losing your license, having to pay over $1,000 in fines and fees and could possibly face jail time. For second or third offenses, you will face mandatory jail if convicted, higher fines and even longer loss of license.

What our legal representation can do for your DUI case

When you’ve been charged with drunk diving or DUI, hiring expert legal representation is crucial. Proving a DUI is very technical. You need a skilled attorney who knows the nuances of the law and who is willing to take your case to trial.  An experienced DUI attorney will make sure that the charge and arrest were conducted according to the proper legal standards and, short of going to trial, can negotiate with the prosecutor to get your criminal charges dismissed or get you a lighter sentence. Penalties for driving under the influence of either alcohol or drugs have become more severe than ever before, and you need an experienced legal voice on your side. The skilled professionals at the Law Office of Howe & Garside, LTD will work hard to get you the best possible outcome after you’ve been arrested or charged.

Call to schedule a free consultation with a DUI Defense Attorney today

If you’ve been arrested for or charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, call a professional DUI attorney with years of experience in Rhode Island. We will thoroughly evaluate your case and offer a free consultation.  When you hire us, we work aggressively to defend your rights. We always conduct a thorough investigation to ensure that all charging and arrest procedures were followed correctly to give you the best chance of having your charges dropped or your penalties reduced.  Visit our website at counselfirst.com or give us a call at (401) 841-5700 and let us be your legal advocates today.

Contact Info.

Contact us

55 Memorial Blvd. Suite 5
Newport, RI 02840
Phone: (401) 841-5700
Fax: 401-367-0192

By Appointment

640 George Washington Hwy
Building B, Suite 103
Lincoln, RI 02865
Phone: (401) 841-5700

  • Ten Best Family Law Attorneys
  • mediate premium
  • Criminal Defense 2020

Free Phone Consultation

    We also make ElderLaw housecalls!