If you refused to submit to a chemical test while arrest for suspicion of DUI, you will likely be charged with both DUI and the violation of Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test. While, DUI cases are handled in the criminal District or Superior Courts, a 1st Offense Refusal violation will be prosecuted at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal. Additionally, any traffic violations you received during the DUI stop will also be handled at the Traffic Tribunal. Fighting multiple cases in separate court systems can be very confusing and overwhelming for clients. Make sure you call us at 401-841-5700 as soon as possible so that we can fight to protect your rights.
When charged with refusal to submit to a breath test, the court will likely issue a preliminary suspension of your license at your first court appearance. Make sure you call us for an experienced RI DUI attorney before your first court date.
Contact a Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney at the Law Offices of Howe & Garside, LTD.
STATUTORY PENALTIES FOR 1ST OFFENSE REFUSAL
Penalties for a 1st Offense Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test can range from the following:
Penalties for a first offence DUI with a breath alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .10 can range from the following:
- Fines and fees totaling up to $1200
- 10-60 hours of community service
- License suspension of 6-12 months
- Mandatory completion of an alcohol/drug treatment program or driving school
- Ignition Interlock system requirement in your vehicle